Film Preview: Bruce Campbell in Person, 5 February, Cameo Cinema, Edinburgh – Updated

5 Jan

My Name is Bruce

This is a biggie for film and TV fans not only in Scotland but around the UK: Bruce Campbell will be appearing in person at Edinburgh’s Cameo Cinema for one night only to promote his new film, My Name is Bruce!

Bruce will be in town as part of a promotional tour which will see him appear post-screening at only two venues in the United Kingdom, and Edinburgh is one of them.

One of my personal favourite Bruce appearances is in the short-lived but much loved Adventures of Brisco County Jr TV show, though he’s also worshipped appreciated by many for the Evil Dead trilogy, Bubba Ho-Tep, Maniac Cop, the Spiderman films, some superb episodes of Homicide: Life on the Streets and a long list of other cult classics.

This will likely sell out in seconds, with fans travelling from far and wide for the screening – subscribe to the itsonitsgone.com email and I’ll let you know more as soon I hear it.

Update 6 January: the Cameo have now announced that the screening will take place on Thursday 5 February 2009, tickets to go on sale on Monday 12 January.

Update 7 January: the latest from those nice people at the Cameo is that, barring last minute attacks by skeletons from the Middle Ages, tickets will go on sale at 11am on Monday 12 January. Sales will be by phone on 0871 704 2052 or in person at the box office but NOT online. There’s also due to be a Bruce Campbell Q&A post-screening. Please note that all this is subject to change – I’ll let you know more when I hear it…

Update 12 January: Gone in 13 minutes. No, that’s not some ropey sequel to a Nic Cage movie but the amount of time it took for tickets for Bruce Campbell’s Edinburgh appearance to sell out. Not bad considering sales were only by phone and in person. Ian Hoey, manager of the Cameo, says that a second screening is “being considered” for those that missed out, but that nothing is certain just now. He also says he has something “very special” planned for the film’s introduction…

Update 14 January: I’ve got a bit of exclusive news (it’s not even up on the Cameo website yet!): As I mentioned above, huge demand on Monday resulted in the tickets for the screening of My Name is Bruce followed by the Bruce Campbell Q&A selling out in a Cameo record of 13 minutes.

To try and ease some of the disappointment felt by those who missed out on tickets, the cinema have managed to arrange an additional screening of My Name is Bruce immediately following the sellout show.  They are very hopeful that Bruce Campbell will remain after the Q&A to personally introduce this second screening!

Details are currently being finalised though the expected show time is around 9 or 9.15pm.

Tickets will go on sale at 11.00am on Monday 26 January and will be via the phoneline on 0871 704 2052 or in person at the box office only. Prices are £7.50 Full/£6.00 concession/£5.00 members.

In addition they’ll also be screening Bubba Ho-Tep as a late-nighter on the two days following this event.

This is fantastic news – two screenings introduced by Bruce Campbell in one night…we shall never see such excitement again?

I know this post is still getting a lot of traffic so if you are attending either screening, or are coming a long distance, please leave a comment below as I’d love to know who’s out there!

Updated 26 January: As of 4.30 today there were still 80 tickets left for the 9.15pm screening which the Cameo have now confirmed will be introduced by Mr Bruce Campbell…

Updated 29 January: As of 12.30 today there are only 19 tickets remaining for the Bruce Campbell introduced second screeing of My Name is Bruce… tickets can only be bought in person at the box office or on the booking line 0871 704 2052.

Updated 30 January: The second screening is now SOLD OUT but I’ve got two tickets to give away thanks to the Edinburgh Evening News and the Cameo!

Final Update(?) 5 February: Bruce Campbell in Person review

As ever, subscribe to the itsonitsgone.com email and I’ll let you know more as soon I hear it.

(Thanks to Ian at the Cameo for the heads-up)

More details are over on the Cameo website.

Meanwhile here’s a trailer for My Name is Bruce:

19 Responses to “Film Preview: Bruce Campbell in Person, 5 February, Cameo Cinema, Edinburgh – Updated”

  1. Cannonball Jones 8 January, 2009 at 4:10 pm #

    This is going to be the best thing to happen to Scotland ever. Seriously. I know the chances of actually getting tickets will be one in a million but i hope to get I manage it, been praying for him to turn up at Dead By Dawn for years now…

  2. Jonathan Melville 8 January, 2009 at 11:21 pm #

    Agreed, well done to the Cameo for securing this, not sure how they managed it – maybe his Scottish Campbell connections did it??

  3. Johnny Munro 12 January, 2009 at 12:41 pm #

    Just a wee note from the Cameo to advise that this event sold out in 13 minutes flat this morning, probably a record for the Cameo. We’re in the process of trying to arrange another screening – keep your fingers crossed!

  4. Richard Brunton (Filmstalker) 13 January, 2009 at 7:19 am #

    ARRGGHHHH! Just posting about this over at Filmstalker, damn I’m mad I missed it.

    Thirteen minutes though, who’d have thought it would have been so fast. Superb win for the Cameo.

  5. Jonathan Melville 13 January, 2009 at 7:45 am #

    Sorry you missed it Richard. I’ll be doing a write up of the event for the blog but that’s not quite the same as seeing the man in person…next time maybe??

  6. Xen 13 January, 2009 at 11:18 am #

    Missed the tickets :(
    I hope there is another screening though, it’s not the same watching the dvd!

  7. Chris 14 January, 2009 at 5:18 am #

    Whoops hehe. Decided to finally dip into Edinburgh’s independent cinema this evening and check out the schedules as a newcomer to the city (only lived here about 16 weeks now so just getting my bearings . . . ) and saw this and almost squeaked a bit. My favorite film of all time, Evil Dead 2, two of the only 4 books I ever got round to finishing, by the legend himself. I was then gutted to see it was on the 5th of Feb, my birthday is on the 6th so I have to get the train home to the midlands on the 5th so I was a bit gutted but could have rearranged the train, then read that it had almost instantly sold out. Absolutely gutted!
    C’est la vie! Enjoy everyone who managed tickets.
    Hail to the King, baby.

  8. Jillika 14 January, 2009 at 12:51 pm #

    I stood in line outside the Cameo for a good half an hour before and the queue was already around the corner. My boss was freaking out at me on the phone…but….I got my tickets!!!! :)

    Thanks so much for letting me know about this, I’m one of the HUGEST Bruce Campbell fans ever!

    Can’t wait for this ‘special’ surprise they have in store…

  9. Jonathan Melville 14 January, 2009 at 1:19 pm #

    Sorry to hear that Chris, it can be tricky to keep tabs on these one-off events, which is the main reason I started the blog…

    And thanks Jillika, glad I could be of service, maybe see you in the crowd at the screening!

  10. AZ 14 January, 2009 at 8:40 pm #

    Hey Bruce fans,

    Was wondering to anyone who waited at the cameo for tickets…. when do you think i should get there for tickets on the 24th?

    Dont wanna be disapointed again :-(

    Groovy.

    AZ X

  11. Ross 16 January, 2009 at 11:51 am #

    So, the second screening will (probably) have an into but no Q&A afterwards. Is that right?

    I’m already going to the first screening but just wanted to know as some friends are still hoping for ’em…

  12. Arran 19 January, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    I missed it too, damn.

    What is the other UK venue, does anyone know?

  13. Jonathan Melville 19 January, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    AZ – I have friends who queued up, I’ll see if they can tell me how long they waited – I think the answer is as early as you can though.

    Ross – that’s right, it’s almost certain Bruce will do an introduction right after his Q&A on the first screening. As this wasn’t part of the original plan the Cameo are still trying to finalise this, but there are a few days between now and the day the tickets go on sale for them to confirm it.

    Arran – did you see that there’s going to be a second screening on the night? I think the Curzon in London are screening it on the Friday night…

  14. Johnny Munro 20 January, 2009 at 11:07 am #

    Hello everyone from the Cameo. Just to inform you that there will be a competition in the Cameo Cinema to win a pair of tickets for the 9.15 performance (for those unfortunate enough not to buy them). We’re all very excited about this event and really can’t wait for it to happen!

  15. AZ 22 January, 2009 at 11:59 am #

    Are the tickets going on sale Monday 26th?

    Thought it was Saturday 24th?

    AZ X

  16. Jonathan Melville 22 January, 2009 at 11:08 pm #

    Hi AZ – the dates changed to Monday 26th a week or so ago…

  17. Jocy 24 January, 2009 at 1:26 pm #

    I’m so gutted, I found out about this yesterday in The List. I’m quite upset that I’m going to be missing out on the Q&A.
    If I had known I would’ve been one of the people queuing up super early to get two tickets (one for me, one for my boyfriend).
    I’m looking around on the net for two tickets for the first one, but I have had no luck!
    I’ll be at the Cameo early on Monday to try and get the second screening tickets! I really hope Bruce Campbell will be there for the second showing.

  18. Jocy 28 January, 2009 at 6:34 pm #

    I got the tickets so all is well :P I was first in the line!

    I wonder if they have sold out yet?

  19. Xen 6 February, 2009 at 9:09 am #

    What a great night and a fantastic film! Bruce is indeed a legend and thanks to the Cameo for putting this on :)

    The only thing that ruined it slightly was the overzealous idiot guy sitting behind us who kept shouting out things at Bruce without putting his hand up and saying ‘Yeeaahh!’ all the time.

Leave a Reply

