Film Preview: Future Shorts, Thursday 17 January

14 Jan

Future ShortsQuite by chance while in the Cameo this afternoon (watching the Sunday Matinee double bill of the stunning Once and intriguing Small Engine Repair) I picked up a leaflet for a screening on Thursday 17 January of Future Shorts.

I’ll freely admit I don’t watch enough short films, even though I know they’re good for me. I’ve caught a few late at night on Channel Four, though that always seems to be a bit too much effort.

The leaflet certainly makes me think this one is worth heading to:

Future Shorts is excited to bring you a star-studded programme of short films this January including the delectable ‘Desserts’ featuring Ewan McGregor, as well a hilarious hip-hop handshake in ‘Pound’ from renowned US music video director Evan Bernard. Also in the line-up are dazzling Japanese animation ‘Lost Utopia’, the darkly comic ‘At the End of the Sentence’ by Marisa Zanotti and many more short cinematic gems. It’s a new year, try some different cinema!

The full line-up is:

  • Joyriders
  • Desserts (starring Ewan MacGregor)
  • Mic Jean Louis
  • Lost Utopia
  • At the End of the Sentence
  • Pound
  • The Suburban Train

I’ll try to get a review up as soon as I can – feel free to leave your thoughts on the films if you make it along, or have seen any of them in the past.

Check out the Future Shorts website for more information.

Venue: The GRV, 37 Guthrie Street (off Chambers Street)
Date/Time: Thursday 17 January, 7:00pm

While I couldn’t find a trailer for the January tour, I’ve linked to this on YouTube – there are loads of other Future Shorts on there if you click through on the video:

Leave a Reply

